one to one coaching

Brokers

NLD1888

I am still new with WWI & have been trading stocks via IB for about 2 years. I used to trade via eTrade but have switched to IB as its commission costs is lower. (used to be 0.5 cents/share but has increased slightly by passing some of the exchange fee to its customers since Sep 1st). Although I don't trade other instruments, I understand that IB charges the lowest fee for futures, options, and FX as well. The only shortfall from IB is its charting software being lousy and so is the data feed (can have bad data).

I think it will be informative to share with others some of the other brokers & what are their pros/cons.

Broker: Interactive Brokers
Instrument: Shares, Futures, Forex, Options
Pros: Low Commission costs, one account to trade all instruments
Cons: Poor charting & data-feed

NLD

in4ex

... I understand that IB charges the lowest fee for futures, options, and FX as well. The only shortfall from IB is its charting software being lousy and so is the data feed (can have bad data).
I think it will be informative to share with others some of the other brokers & what are their pros/cons.
NLD
Agreed: cheap, charting sucks, data is different, Customer Service expects you to know what you are doing!

I use IB for years now. Both for equities, options and forex; never for futures...yet. I would look into Infinity for futures only because they offer a DOM platform.

IB is the cheapest you can get to that of a wholesale price. You can only do better by trading with a Prop Firm...but then you have to qualify as a Prop Trader!

I maintain a TDameritrade account only because they purchased ThinkOrSwim, but I only keep the very irregular trades over there.
Sites like Etrade/TD/Scott are for those seeking all the gadgets they think they need to trade. IB is more for raw traders who do not use all the gadgets...those in Hedge Funds and Portfolio Management.