Aurix Exchange

Differencce between backtest and live demo test!

shtcwl

Hey guys,

I am new to FX trading and the forum. So far this forum is the best one I have experienced and many thanks to the members.

I have been testing an EA on my live demo account for two days and the EA only placed one trade. HOwever, just now I run the back test on the same EA with same setting and there are multiple trades in the same period of time!!

Why there are such big difference in backtesting and live demo testing? Is there any special setting I could have missed? Or if it is always like this how much confidence I can put on the backtesting results?

Can experienced MT4 users share your experience with backtesting and live demo testing?

Many thanks

SHTCWL

saxon

It is a complicated answer, but it is essentially that backtest data is not exactly the same as real live feed data. Also, in backtest, the EA can open orders instantly, but it takes 2-3 seconds in real life to full an order.

The best way to test an EA is to forward test a demo account - it is still not 100% accurate, but it is close to real performance.

shtcwl

Thanks Saxon,

So, should I assume that the ES is running correctly on the chart as long as there is a smily face on the top right hand side?

SHTCWL

Thanks Saxon,

So, should I assume that the ES is running correctly on the chart as long as there is a smily face on the top right hand side?

SHTCWL

yes you should, but for errors check the 'experts' and the 'journal' tab - post any error messages here for an explanation. Also check that you've uploaded any relevant indicators to the correct location also - or it won't trade.

Is it any particular EA we can help you with (believe me.... most of us have tried them all so far!)
:)

shtcwl