Aurix Exchange

Renko or Ranged Bars ?

StaticX

Hi Guys,

Over the past week, I have been learning how to trade the Woodies CCI method and I am liking it very much. My win ratio has been the highest it has ever been since I started trading.

One of the more quirky aspects to Woodies method is that it makes of use Range bars, I have manage to locate one of the best Range Bar scripts out there from MQLSERVICES, but he charges 60 Euros for it.

Then I started paying attention to some of Joy22'S posts and saw he loves using Renko bars. So I obviously started looking into them and they appear to be almost the same. (which I am guessing they are not). Just in case there is anyone else like me that did not know the difference between Ranged Bars and Renko Bars, here is the explanation:

"The range bar measures a set range of price movements and when that range is met the bar prints. A renko bar does the same except the range has to be all in one direction for the bar to print. So with a 10 tick renko bar the range has to be all up or all down for it to print"

So does anyone have an opnion on which are more suitable for Woodies CCI method? Renko or Range Bars...

Much appreaciated for any help.

Cheers
StaticX

StaticX

Think I have the answer to my question.

Range Bars... First rule of Woodie, Do not change or deviate from the Woodie, do not add to the Woodie, do only what Woodie would do...

Errmmm, I smell a celt... but jokes aside, Mr Woodie has and is doing a really good thing here... 32+ years of trading and he is still going strong...

Joy22

Hi Guys,

Over the past week, I have been learning how to trade the Woodies CCI method and I am liking it very much. My win ratio has been the highest it has ever been since I started trading.

One of the more quirky aspects to Woodies method is that it makes of use Range bars, I have manage to locate one of the best Range Bar scripts out there from MQLSERVICES, but he charges 60 Euros for it.